Book, stay, enjoy. That's

Thursday 5 January 2023

Farewell to the kuna

It has been a momentous week for Croatia.

The Balkan nation is the newest member of the border-free Schengen zone and has replaced the Croatia kuna with the euro.

Croatia became an EU member in 2013 and is the 27th member of the Schengen zone, which aids freedom of movement for travellers within Europe..

EC President Ursula von der Leyen called it a "historic" moment.

Croatia has "‘achieved its strategic, state and political goals," Prime Minister Andrej Plenkovic said, adding "it means a lot for Croatia as a tourist country".

Cities like Dubrovnik (above) are major tourism drawcards.   

By joining the Schengen zone, Croatia joins 26 other EU and EEA countries that have officially abolished all passport and all other types of border control at their mutual borders.

No comments:

Post a Comment