Book, stay, enjoy. That's

Sunday 8 January 2023

City of wine for 2023 is not a city at all

The European City of Wine for 2023 is not a city at all.

The Douro Valley, home to Portugal's port production, is the oldest demarcated wine region in the world and a UNESCO world heritage site.

The Douro Intermunicipal Community (CIM Duoro) comprises the municipalities of Alijó, Armamar, Carrazeda de Ansiães, Freixo de Espada à Cinta, Lamego, Mesão Frio, Moimenta da Beira, Murça, Penedono, Peso da Régua, Sabrosa, Santa Marta de Penaguião, São João da Pesqueira, Sernancelhe, Tabuaço, Tarouca, Torre de Moncorvo, Vila Nova de Foz Coa and Vila Real.

The European city of wine is an annual competition conducted by the European Network of Wine Cities (RECEVIN) since 2012, and aims to promote tourism and publicise European wine-producing regions.

CIM Duoro says it has “dozens of initiatives” planned throughout the year “to show the Douro to Europe”, The Portugal News reported.

“With this distinction as European City of Wine 2023, the Douro cherishes the legitimate desire for the region to be a major contributor to national exports, to make wine and vineyards a concrete and real lever for the development of its economy, and the wealth of those who live and work here,” CIM Douro said in a statement.

The group described the accolade as an “opportunity to promote wine tourism, culture and heritage and to be able to welcome visitors with dignity, highlighting wine as a strategic element and essence of our economic activity.”

The presentation gala will take place on February 4 in Lamego.

CIM said the 19 local mayors are “prepared to take on the challenge”.

RECEVIN has 11 national wine associations as members: Germany, Austria, Bulgaria, Slovenia, Spain, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Portugal and Serbia.

Image: Visit Portugal 

No comments:

Post a Comment