Book, stay, enjoy. That's

Wednesday 29 September 2021

Thailand unveils precise travel reopening plans

I'm holding out for a Pad Thai, a cold Singha or cocktail by the pool at Rayavadee in Krabi and maybe a massage on the beach.

Thailand is one of my favourite travel destinations - and will be one of my first ports of call when Australians are allowed to travel.

The Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) has just revealed that the Centre for COVID-19 Situation Administration (CCSA) has approved a four-phase timeline for the country’s re-opening plan to revitalise the nationwide tourism industry.

The pilot phase from October 1-31 will continue with the four popular beach resorts, which were the first destinations to reopen – beginning with Phuket on July 1, then Surat Thani’s Samui, Ko Pha-ngan and Ko Tao on July 15, and most recently Krabi and Phang-Nga on August 16 linking with Phuket under the 7+7 Extension arrangement.

This phase will also see reopening of new designated areas in Krabi – Khlong Muang and Thap Khaek.

The next phase from November 1-30 will see the reopening extended to 10 other tourism-driven destinations. These include all areas of Bangkok, Krabi and Phang-Nga, and designated areas in Buri Ram (Mueang), Chiang Mai (Mueang, Mae Rim, Mae Taeng, and Doi Tao), Chon Buri (Pattaya, Bang Lamung, Na Jomtien, and Sattahip), Loei (Chiang Khan), Phetchaburi (Cha-Am), Prachuap Khiri Khan (Hua Hin), and Ranong (Ko Phayam).

From December 1-31, the reopening will be extended to 20 more provinces which are tourism-driven, well-known for art and culture, or border destinations. These include Ayutthaya, Chiang Rai, Khon Kaen, Lamphun, Mae Hong Son, Nakhon Ratchasima, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Narathiwat, Nong Khai, Pathum Thani, Phatthalung, Phetchabun, Phrae, Rayong, Samut Prakan, Songkhla, Sukhothai, Trang, Trat and Yala.

The third phase from January 1, 2022 onwards will see the reopening of 13 border provinces, including Bueng Kan, Chanthaburi, Kanchanaburi, Mukdahan, Nakhon Phanom, Nan, Ratchaburi, Sa Kaeo, Satun, Surin, Tak, Ubon Ratchathani, and Udon Thani.

Meanwhile, foreign tourists can continue to visit the four pilot beach resort destinations under the existing conditions - except for Australians unable to travel without an exemption. I guess we'll have to wait a bit longer. 

No comments:

Post a Comment