Tuesday, 22 October 2019

UPDATE: Drinking wine does some good


The Granite Belt, Queensland's largest wine-producing region and serious food bowl, is enduring one of the most crippling droughts on record. 

The knock-on effect from global warming is now hitting parts of the community in an unprecedented manner - and the Federal Government is proving less than helpful. 

Farms that should be bursting with greenery readying crops for market are bare and dusty. Dams are parched and resemble moonscapes. 

Locals relying on town water are limited to using 100-litres per person per day with many outside this supplying hemorrhaging money to buy water for their own use, as well as water and food for their stock. 

Staff are being laid off due to a lack of work available and tourist numbers have also plummeted.

To combat this, several Granite Belt wineries have banded together to launch Wine 4 Water, a not-for-profit alliance to raise much-needed funds for another not-for-profit organisation, Granite Belt Drought Assist. 

This organisation is responsible for distributing water, food and stock feed for those Granite Belt community members in most need.

How does it all work? Go to one of the participating Granite Belt wineries listed below (either in person or online) and purchase a Wine4Water mixed six-pack for $150 - delivered. 

All wines that are part of this initiative have a retail value of over $25 each with some retailing for $39 and $45 each. 

Approximately $45 from each pack will go to those in need.

UPDATE: The initial 96 mixed six packs sold old. 

Another 130 packs are to be released for sale.
Already $4,300 has been raised for Granite Belt Drought Assist, with all sales from Round 2 hoped to bring the total raised to nearly $10 000.

For more details go to the Wine4Water Facebook page. 

Participating wineries:
Golden Grove Estate www.goldengroveestate.com.au
Ridgemill Estate www.ridgemillestate.com
Hidden Creek www.hiddencreek.com.au,
La Petite Mort www.lapetitemort.wine
Twisted Gum www.twistedgum.com.au
Ballandean Estate www.ballandeanestate.com
Pyramids Road Wines www.pyramidsroad.com.au
View Wines www.viewwine.com.au
Girraween Estate www.girraweenestate.com.au
Jester Hill Wines www.jesterhillwines.com.au
Heritage Estate www.heritageestate.wine
Robert Channon Wines www.robertchannonwines.com

No comments:

Post a comment